My Favorite Recipe

Do you have a favorite recipe? You know, the one that you just made last week, so therefore, you should probably wait at least another week before making it again. However, you really just want to make it again…today! Yeah, that’s the one.roasted veggies

This last week I made my fav recipe, Kielbasa and Roasted Veggies. I actually hadn’t made it for a couple months because (and there may be real tears here) my wonderful in-laws, (whom we are currently living with) have just one flaw. They-don’t-like-kielbasa. Oh, I think a fairy died somewhere when I wrote those words! And what a tragic blow this is to my recipe repertoire!

I love kielbasa.

My Hubs loves likes kielbasa.

My kids love kielbasa…which they lovingly call “hotdogs” and well, yeah, they are a tiny bit similar. However, Kielbasa is 10 TIMES BETTER!

If you have lived near me for the last 3 to 4 years you will probably already know about this recipe. Because obviously I love it…and when I love something, I tend to tell everyone who will listen (or at least fake listen) about it, or in this case I just make it for them. If I brought you a meal in the last couple years, there’s a good chance it was this one (either that or my mexican lasagna which also rocks my face off).

If I were to be on my death bed and were given a last meal it would be…

Okay, it actually wouldn’t be this meal. I’d have to think about it more, but off the top of my head, it would probably be the filet mignon and veggies from Benihana’s. Wow…my mouth practically exploded from the awesomeness coming outta that place.

But…

For an everyday type of meal, this one tops my list!

And…

It’s great because it’s chopped full of veggies and has a shocking amount of flavor considering you only add salt and pepper. It’s also great because it can fit into all sorts of people’s diets.

Last year, I did Whole 30 for about…um…three days. (On day four, My Hubs came home with a free Bloomin’ Onion coupon from Outback and that was the end of that. Clearly, I am a very disciplined person). But this recipe with a few tweaks (changing the type of oil and the type of kielbasa I usually use) totally fit into the Whole 30 parameters! …and those are pretty small parameters!

All that to say, this is a great meal! So, if your regular winter meals (soup again?) have you in a rut, then try out this recipe. It may just change your life weekly meal planning!

Roasted Kielbasa and Veggies

Ingredients: (I double this for our family of 5.5 (baby is eating a ton yet))

-3 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into 1 inch pieces

-1 large onion, cut into 1 inch pieces or diced up (I dice it up)

-1/2 of a one pound bag of baby carrots OR 4 medium carrots cut into 1 inch pieces

-2 Tablespoons olive oil

-1 pound kielbasa halved and cut into one inch pieces

-1 medium yellow squash cut into 1 inch pieces (no need to peel)

-1 medium zucchini cut into 1 inch pieces (no need to peel)

-1/4 tsp salt

-1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

1) Preheat oven to 400.

2) Divide sweet potatoes, onions, and carrots between two greased baking sheets. (I use aluminum foil on my baking sheets for easy cleanup, but definitely spray them with A LOT of cooking spray or the veggies will stick!).

3) Drizzle with olive oil and put the pans in the oven for 25 minutes, stirring halfway through.

4) Remove pans from oven and add kielbasa, squash, and zucchini, then sprinkle with the salt and pepper and toss to mix it all up (add a little more oil if the veggies are sticking).

5) Put it back in the oven for 15-20 more minutes (stirring halfway through) or until veggies are tender.

6) Transfer to a serving bowl

*To shorten my prep time, I cut up the sweet potatoes, carrots, and onion first. While those are in the oven, I cut up the zucchini, squash, and kielbasa.*

**I usually use Hillshire Farm kielbasa but my sister-in-law found some at her local farmer’s market that she said was amazing! So, I’m always on the look out for other kinds.**

kielbasa.jpg

I hope you enjoy the awesomeness!! Especially those slightly browned sweet potato bites, oh baby! They are like little vegetable candy for the soul! 

 

(A version of this recipe was originally contributed to Taste of Home by Marietta Slater)

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Recipe

Leave a comment